1. Turf/Landscaping Employment Opportunity

    Apr 9, 2014

    Lawn & Turf Landscaping Job Opportunities 

    Lawn and Turf Landscaping is an aggresive and inclusive design-build firm with 49 years of experience. We are continously looking for professional, self-motivated individuals to add to our team. As our business growth continues, so does the opportunity for potential employees. Listed bleow are the positions available:

  2. Public Horticulture/ Landscaping Internship Opportunity

    Apr 9, 2014

    Catholic Cemeteries Association Public Horticulture/Landscaping Internship - Cleveland Area 

  3. Most of Ohio’s 2014 wine grape crop lost

    Apr 9, 2014

    Most of Ohio’s 2014 wine grape crop lost due to polar vortex, Ohio State survey finds

    By Mauricio Espinoza | Posted on 4/8/2014

    WOOSTER, Ohio - The prolonged and extremely frigid temperatures in Ohio earlier this year have destroyed a majority of the crop of popular wine grape varieties grown in the state, according to a survey recently conducted by Ohio State University's Grape Team.

  4. Mid-Ohio Food Bank is looking for an Urban Farm Assistant

    Apr 7, 2014

    The Urban Farm Assistant will assist in all aspects of running a small, diversified urban farm. Working closely with the Farm Manager, the Urban Farm Assistant will be responsible for assisting and supporting the on-going field and high-tunnel operations of the Clarfield Farm. The ideal candidate will have a strong work ethic and be hard working as a team member to ensure the farm keeps growing and operating productively. The Urban Farm Assistant will be adaptive and efficient, a quick and eager learner, have a positive attitude, and be willing to contribute to the success of the farm.

  5. Internship Opportunities

    Apr 4, 2014

    Social Media Internship 

    Blooms of Bressingham Plants is looking for an intern to help generate their social media content. An intern will watch for social media trends, answer online inquiries (with guidance of Tour Coordinator or other Blooms staff or consultant), and maintain the “voice” of the gardens tour program.

    More information can be found here. 

  6. HCS Graduate Student, Dominic Petrella wins awards!

    Apr 2, 2014

    HCS Graduate Student, Dominic Petrella won 3rd place in the oral presentation in the FAES section of the 2014 Hayes Graduate Research Forum. Now heading into its 29th year, the Edward F. Hayes Graduate Research Forum is co-sponsored by the Council of Graduate Students, the Graduate School, and the Office of Research.

  7. Turf Student, Dominic Petrella on Turf Health: Why Dye?

    Apr 1, 2014

    Turf Health: Why Dye?
    The benefits of using turf pigments and dyes
    By Dominic Petrella

  8. Congratulations to Bradley Snyder for his winning presentation in the Denman & CFAES research forums

    Apr 1, 2014

    Brad was awarded second place for his poster presentations entitled "DNA sequence evaluation of the Rag5locus for soybean aphid resistance" in both the Denman & CFAES undergraduate research forums in 2013. Congratulations!

  9. Temporary Weekend Sales Representative: Lawn & Garden Specialist

    Mar 28, 2014

    Horticulture Students! There is a weekend job opportunity for you! 

    Temporary Weekend Sales Representative – Lawn & Garden Specialist

    Job description:

    The primary responsibility of this Temporary Weekend Sales Representative role is to provide in-store lawn and garden expertise to promote sales of a specific product line at Home Centers in Franklin County area. Incumbent will also build relationships with store personnel for the duration of the program.

  10. Columbus Metro Parks looking for Seasonal Help!

    Mar 28, 2014

    Columbus Metro Parks is looking to fill a number of seasonal maintenance positions this summer, including several positions at Blacklick Woods Golf Course. All seasonal positions earn $10.00/hour. This is a particularly good opportunity for those interested in Turf and Golf Course Maintenance, as well as, Park Maintenance.