1. OSU's Best of the Best 2013

    Nov 17, 2013

    We are excited to announce our Best of the Best and Top Favorite winners for the 2013 summer season. The Best of the Best title is awarded only to those plants that received a perfect '5' rating on all four performance evaluations. Only nine of over 650 cultivars revceived this award! The Top Favorite, tied between two cultivars this year, is given to the top rated plant after averaging all of the consumer preference scores. For more information, please contact trial manager William Barnhill (

  2. Congratulations HCS Student Lyndsey Davisson!

    Nov 14, 2013

    HCS and Chadwick Arboretum student, Lyndsey Davisson, was awarded a $500 scholarship check from the Central Ohio Hosta Society. The Central Ohio Hosta Society is an opportunity for hosta lovers to unite and share their experiences and knowledge to expand their love and enjoyment of shade gardening. Information about the society can be found here

    Congratulations, Lyndsey! 

  3. Student Farm Sweet Potato and Garlic Fall Sale

    Nov 6, 2013

    THE OSU STUDENT FARM will have their fall sweet potato and garlic sale again this year.  Produce is locally and organically grown on the OSU campus.      Deadline for placing your order is November 11, 2013   Produce Order Form
  4. Scotts Scholarship Opportunity for Undergraduate Juniors

    Nov 5, 2013

    HCS Juniors! We have a scholarship opportunity for you. Scotts Miracle-Gro Company, is offering the Scotts LawnService Scholarship Program. Students studying Turfgrass Science, Crop Science, and/or Landscape Horticulture with at least a 3.0 GPA can apply. The program combines a hands-on internship with a scholarship that will cover an entire year of tuition!   This scholarship is intended for students with one year of undergraduate work remaining in their college career.   
  5. Growers increase odds of yield loss the longer corn sits in fields

    Nov 1, 2013

    'COLUMBUS, Ohio - While some growers may choose to let corn dry in the field, the longer the corn sits, the greater potential it has for yield loss, according to a field crop expert with Ohio State University's College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences.

    In fact, delaying harvest beyond early to mid- November can result in yield losses from stalk lodging, ear drop and ear rot, said Peter Thomison, Ohio State University Extension agronomist. OSU Extension is the outreach arm of the college...'

  6. Frost increases chance of prussic acid poisoning in livestock; forage testing available

    Oct 31, 2013

    Frost increases chance of prussic acid poisoning in livestock; forage testing available

    "COLUMBUS, Ohio - With the frost that hit the region in recent days, the potential for prussic acid poisoning in livestock is likely on the mind of many producers. But, in addition to taking measures to prevent livestock toxicity, producers can also consider testing forage for prussic acid content, according to a forage expert with Ohio State University's College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences.

  7. New Course Announcement!

    Oct 30, 2013

    There's a new course in town!

    Sign up for Introduction to Crop Biochemistry for Spring 2014. 

  8. 'Weed from hell' - HCS is in the Dispatch!

    Oct 21, 2013

    'A fast-growing super weed that has destroyed soybean and cotton fields in southern states is popping up in Ohio, alarming researchers and agriculture groups who fear its spread. It’s called “Palmer amaranth,” and commonly used herbicides such as Roundup have no effect on it. “It goes from a few plants to Armageddon in a couple years,” said Mark Loux, a weed scientist with Ohio State University Extension...'   Check out the rest of the article here! 
  9. HCS in the news!

    Oct 14, 2013

    Check out these articles about HCS faculty research! 

  10. 2013 Employee Service and Achievement Award

    Oct 14, 2013

    Horticulture and Crop Science staff member Jennifer Moyseenko has been awarded the 2013 OARDC Outstanding Staff Award. Congratulations Jennifer!    For more award recipients, click here for the full article. View Jennifer Moyseenko's staff bio here.