Gamma Sigma Delta

April 16, 2013
Gamma Sigma Delta is an honors society in the field of agriculture. The fraternity began at The Ohio State University in 1905 and the organization has been honoring students, faculty, and staff who demonstrate outstanding research, teaching, and service.
This year four members of the Horticulture and Crop Science department received awards.
Dr. Pablo Jourdan, Associate Professor, was awarded the Teaching Award of Merit.
He is an engaging teacher who has developed seven new courses during his career and has taught twenty different courses at Ohio State.
Dr. Esther van der Knaap, Associate Professor, won the Research Award of Merit. Dr. van der Knaap is a world renowned researcher with her work on the genetic control of fruit shape.
The International Award of Merit went to Assistant Professor, Dr. Kristin Mercer.
Dr. Mercer has conducted research in Southern Mexico. Her research concentrated on the characterization and identity of landrace maize.
Bruce A. Ackley, Extension Program Specialist, was awarded the Outstanding Service Award of Merit.
He has helped with research support for the OSU Weed Extension Group and has also served as the coach for the OSU Weed Science graduate and undergraduate teams.
Congratulations to all of the winners!
Above is a photo of Dr. Kristin Mercer and Bruce Ackley receiving their awards.